Skip to content Skip to navigation

UC San Diego MRSEC

The UC San Diego Materials Research Science and Engineering Center fosters research, education, and outreach across the disciplines of engineering, physical sciences, and biological sciences, with a focus on new materials and new materials properties.  It is developing two major themes: using computational models to predict and guide the self-assembly of materials from the nano- to mesoscales; and deploying the tools of synthetic biology to create soft materials that incorporate living components.

People

Director:
Michael J.
Sailor
msailor@ucsd.edu
Education and Outreach :
Stacey
Brydges
sbrydges@ucsd.edu
IRG 1: Predictive Assembly:
Andrea
Tao
atao@ucsd.edu
IRG 2: Living Materials:
Jonathan
Pokorski
jpokorski@ucsd.edu
IRG2: Living Materials:
Nicole
Steinmetz
nsteinmetz@eng.ucsd.edu
IRG1: Predictive Assembly:
Tod
Pascal
tpascal@ucsd.edu
Facilities/External:
Shirley
Meng
shirleymeng@ucsd.edu
Senior Director, RPDS:
Sharon
Franks
sfranks@ucsd.edu
Award DMR year started: 
2020