Skip to content Skip to navigation

MRSEC Director Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Northwestern Engineering’s Mark Hersam, whose research has led to more effective and sustainable nanomaterials used in electronics, energy storage, and medicine, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Hersam is joined in the 2024 class by McCormick School of Engineering alumni Carolyn Duran (PhD ’98) and Patricia L. Mokhtarian (MS ’77, PhD ’81).

Election to the academy is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Hersam, Duran, and Mokhtarian are three of 114 new members and 21 new international members announced by the NAE on February 6. They will be formally inducted during the NAE’s annual meeting on September 24.

“We are extremely proud to see Mark recognized with the highest honor in our profession,” said Christopher A. Schuh, dean of Northwestern Engineering. “His pioneering work in nanomaterials has helped make Northwestern a leader in the field, while also leading to countless advances in renewable energy and computing.”

Read all about it.