Skip to content Skip to navigation

Directors' Meeting March 2012

Monday, March 19, 2012 - 12:00 to 19:00

8:30-8:45            MRSEC Program Directors Opening Remarks

8:45-9:45            Session with Ian Robertson, Director, Division of Materials Research

9:45-10:00            Break

10:00-10:15            Welcome and MPS perspective on innovation and MPS investments

Celeste Rohlfing, Deputy Assistant Director, Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences, NSF 

10:15-10:55            The Advocacy Perspective on Innovation

·      Linking federal funding of basic research to innovation, economic growth and America’s global competitiveness - Sue Garman & Matthew Greenwald, The Science Coalition,  

10:55-11:35            Driving Innovation from the NSF Perspective

·      Scalable Nanomanufacturing Program - Steven McKnight, Director, Civil, Mechanical, and Manufacturing Innovation Division, Directorate for Engineering (20 min)

·      SBIR/STTR, AIR, IUCRC, I-Corps, GOALI Programs - Karlene Hoo & Ruth Shuman, Program Directors, Industrial Innovation and Partnerships Division, Directorate for Engineering (20 min)

11:35-12:05            The Academic Perspective – Examples of Programs to Spur Innovation

·      IPrime: A broad-based, pre-competitive university/industry partnership - Tim Lodge, Director, University of Minnesota MRSEC (10 min)

·    JumpStart Presentation.pdf- Melissa Hines, Director, Cornell University MRSEC (10 min)

·      Innovation Strategy/Small Business Evaluation and Entrepreneur’s (SBEE) Program - Monica Olvera de la Cruz, Director, Northwestern University MRSEC (10 min)

12:05-1:35            Lunch and Working Group Meetings

1:35-2:00            Election of new vice chair (and group chairs) 

2:00-2:30            Working committee reports and discussion (Education, Industry, Broadening Participation, Communications, Facilities; Education Coordinator will discuss plans with the Education Working Group; Facilities will be the last to report to roll into the next agenda item)

2:30-2:40            Materials Research Facilities Network (MRFN) supplement discussion – Craig Hawker & Todd Emrick

2:40-3:00            MRSEC Webmasters’ Interactive Meeting & Website Update – Irina Zaks

3:00-4:00            Wrap-up and closed session